Tuesday, December 2, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday - ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES

Title: All the Bright Places
Author: Jennifer Niven
Publisher: Knopf
Publication Date: 1/6/2015

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this compelling, exhilarating, and beautiful story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

By the time I was ten, I had already written numerous songs, a poem for Parker Stevenson ("If there were a Miss America for men, You would surely win"), two autobiographies (All About Me and My Life in Indiana: I Will Never Be Happy Again), a Christmas story, several picture books (which I illustrated myself) featuring the Doodle Bugs from Outer Space, a play about Laura Ingalls Wilder's sister entitled Blindness Strikes Mary, a series of prison mysteries, a collection of short stories featuring me as the main character (an internationally famous rock star detective), and a partially finished novel about Vietnam. I was also an excellent speller from a very early age.

In 2000, I started writing full-time, and I haven't stopped... I've written eight books (two of those are forthcoming), and when I'm not working on the ninth, I'm contributing to my web magazine, Germ (www.germmagazine.com), thinking up new books, and dabbling in TV. I am always writing.

What books are you waiting for this week?

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine - make sure you head over and see what other people are waiting for!


  1. I just got this from NetGalley yesterday and I can't wait to read it! I think I should make sure there are tissues nearby. Great pick!

    Michelle @ Michelle's Minions

    My WoW

  2. This is the first time I came across this book. I'm not sure whether I'd read it although I loved TFioS and E&P..

    Here's my Wednesday post.

  3. Oh man, this book <3 You'll love it! Such a beautiful story.

    Here's mine

    Kirsty @ StudioReads

  4. I just got a copy of this on Netgalley yesterday. I'm so excited for this one. Thanks for sharing. Here's my post

    Also, I have a $30 Amazon giftcard giveaway going on, so don't miss it.